Life – Since the last post

After a long drought of five and a half months, I finally got my lazy ass back to writing. The last time I posted on my blog, I lived in room no. 320, IITH Boys Hostel, studied control systems and speech processing and had a lively junta in the neighbourhood. Today, I live in a flat in Bangalore with two of my friends from college, use excel for work and have no idea who my neighbours are. There has been a drastic shift in the last couple of months. Some things have turned out to be bad, others good.

The last month of college will surely be one of the most beautiful periods of my life. The farewell parties and get together made our bonds stronger. The first party was thrown by the junior batch of 2014. It was easily one of the best parties I’ve ever been in. From the roses and the applause at the entry to the wonderful souvenir in form of a plain t-shirt, which was supposed to be filled with quotes from batchmates, everything about it was perfect. The things that people wrote on the t-shirt made me feel happy and contended that I did spent some real good time here and that my friends believe in me. By the way, I got my t-shirt to Bangalore. Everytime I feel like a little lost, a look at all the things that people wrote and I feel quite motivated.

Then there was official farewell by the director. Director’s party started off with speeches by the people of our batch for their alma mater. Director’s speech was totally awesome. One sentence by him, “IITH will always be your second home and you can come anytime here” made my eyes wet. The 2 odd kms walk from the institute to the hostel at midnight, singing songs like yaaro dosti, hum rahe yaa naa rahein kal etc. and then sitting on the middle of the road and everyone sharing interesting stories from their life was surely a night to remember.

The third get together was with the team Egnite (which by the way is now an officially registered NGO \m/). Over the dinner, we discussed about a lot of things. Our team had 12-13 people from 5-6 different states. Over the year, we had become very good friends. While returning back on auto, someone asked a question as to what do we really want to achieve in life. All of us answered as to what we want to accomplish. My respect for comrades increased exponentially after listening to their vision.

The last get together, the Spartans get together, was a day before I was scheduled to leave. We went to Athidi, the same restaurant where we had our first party four years earlier. Life is a circle they say. Our journey had to end at the same place at where it started. Just as we went and had ordered the appetizers, one of us stood up for giving a toast. This was followed by a toast raised by each one of us. By the time we finished, we had been in the restaurant for more than 3.5 hours. The waiters were instructed to tell us that it was their closing time. But they, after seeing all the emotions in the room, lend us more time to finish. The whole exercise was as if, the story of those four years, the good and the bad things, the fights and the celebrations, the struggles and the victories were played before us. By the time we left, most of us had moist eyes, all the differences among us had vanished and we only had one prayer for each other “Jab bhi milna, haste hue milna” ( translation : whenever we meet in life, have that smile of yours intact).

Life at home went quite real quickly. The first 10 days went into remembering the last four years and regretting that life would not be the same again. It is said that time is a great healer. For, the next couple of days, I had a great time hanging out with Nagpur friends. We had couple of treats and when we were out of money, we gate-crashed into marriage ceremonies. But before I could extend that phase of chilling out in my hometown, I had to pack up for Bangalore. I hardly got a month’s rest. Blaming my bad luck and cursing the company, I started to pack up for the new journey.

Bangalore – The city made me fall in love with it as soon as I entered. The weather is probably the best among all the big cities in India. My job is pretty chilled out. My boss says that the starting phase of your job is your honeymoon period. This time won’t come back. So enjoy to the fullest. It has been about 2 months since then and the work pressure is about the same. I am kind of enjoying this extended honeymoon period (don’t tell my boss about this :P).

One big difference between college and corporate life has been the number of girls around. Coming from a skewed ratio of about 1 girl per 11 boys or so, entering an organization with almost 1:1 ratio was a distant dream ( “:P” for those who are still working in an organization with less ratio). My faith in humanity has been restored.😀

A group of around 10 of us college friends try to meet up during the weekend and plan out something. We went for a few outings, had a few bakaiti sessions and watched a lot of movies. I’ve made a couple of friends in office too. Enjoy hanging out with them.

They say the grass is always greener on the other side. When in college, we would wonder and talk about the life outside, about the things money can buy. Here, after a few months, there is one thing that I know for sure. Money cannot buy happiness. Family and friends can!🙂

Well, that’s about the last couple of months. With a promise that I’ll continue to write more frequently, I’ll sign off!🙂

Posted on September 7, 2013, in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

