Imagining a World – The John Lennon Way

There is a reason that the Beatles is the most celebrated band in the world. Apart from the fabulous music they created, they were blessed with two of the best songwriters that got them so many numerous hits – the duo of John Lennon and Sir Paul McCartney. Even after the breaking up of the Beatles, John and Paul separately continued to make some great numbers. This post is about John Lennon, or rather, one of the songs by John Lennon.

I do not have a particularly good ear for rock music (apart from a few exceptions). What I like songs with good lyrics. While I was watching the closing ceremony of the London Olympic Games 2012, I stumbled upon one such song. The music was slow and soothing and hence, it was easy to focus upon the lyrics. I liked the song immediately. The song was ‘Imagine’ by John Lennon.  Many of you might be aware of the song. For those of you who are not, thought I might share the same with all of you.

The lyrics go like this …

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people living for today

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people living life in peace

You, you may say
I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people sharing all the world

You, you may say
I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

The lyrics of the song were by far one of the best I’ve ever known. The hidden message of living in harmony and unison with each other, breaking the shackles of gender, class, culture, country, and religion is a tough thing to imagine. John Lennon imagined that. In an era where everyone cares about is my country – my life, he gave the symbol of one world – one dream.  The song is like selfless wish list of a child at Christmas. A perfect vision of a peaceful world. Truly only a dreamer could come up with such a creation.

If there is one song that I would like my kids to hear and learn as soon as they are old enough to understand the lyrics, it would be ‘imagine’. Thank You John for giving a wonderful philosophy and I wish someday the dream of the world you gave will be realized.

Oh, I actually forgot to mention the reason I wrote this blog today.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JOHN!! You are being missed!

For the video of the song, see on the link below! 🙂
Imagine – John Lennon – London 2012 Closing Ceremony

Posted on October 9, 2012, in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Would you mind if I quote a several of your articles or blog posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website:
    https://pranaypatil.wordpress.com/2012/10/09/imagining-a-world-the-john-lennon-way/. I’ll aslo make sure to give you the appropriate anchor-text link using your webpage title: Imagining a World – The John Lennon Way | Another fool trying to be wise …. Please make sure to let me know if this is okay with you. With thanks

Leave a Reply

